Search our holdings

Welcome to Public Records Office (PRO) – we are the designated archives to preserve and make accessible the archival records of the HKSAR Government. We have preserved over 1.5 million records. Our holdings date back to as early as the mid-19th century. They are held in different formats ranging from files, bound volumes, photographs, posters, maps and plans to films.

Our holdings consist of three types:

  • Archival Items - Government documents transferred by government bureaux and departments (with Record ID prefixed by “HKRS” which stands for “Hong Kong Record Series) and private records and personal papers donated to PRO as well as reproduction copy of records relating to Hong Kong purchased from other overseas Archives (with Record ID prefixed by “HKMS” which stands for Hong Kong Manuscript Series).
  • Library Items - Items of the Central Preservation Library for Government Publications, which mainly include government publications (such as monographs, photographs, serial and posters). Some books relating to Hong Kong studies are also included.
  • Carl Smith Collection - Data cards compiled by the late Reverend Carl Smith through some 25 years’ intensive research into a vast quantity of original records, newspapers and publications held by PRO.


Before beginning your search

Find out what PRO holdings are all about before beginning your search and take a quick look at how you start your search with the online catalogue.


Online catalogue

You can use online catalogue "@PRO" for searching information about PRO holdings.

搜尋館藏

歡迎來臨歷史檔案館 – 作為指定的政府檔案館,我們致力保存香港特別行政區政府的歷史檔案,以供市民取閱。我們保存了超過1,500,000份歷史檔案,當中最早可追溯自19世紀中葉。這些檔案貯存於不同載體,包括案卷、裝訂本、照片、海報、地圖與圖則及影片。

我們的館藏包括以下三類:

  • 歷史檔案 –由政府各局/部門移交的政府文件及個別人士捐贈的私人檔案 (檔案編號為HKRS,代表Hong Kong Record Series,即「政府歷史檔案類別」),以及從民間機構和個別人士捐贈予歷史檔案館的私人檔案和個人手稿,和購買自其他海外檔案館、與香港有關的檔案複製本 (檔案編號為HKMS,代表Hong Kong Manuscript Series,即「民間歷史檔案類別」)。
  • 圖書館藏品 –政府刊物中央保存圖書館的藏品,主要包括政府刊物(如書籍、照片、期刊和海報),也包括一些與香港研究有關的書籍。
  • 施其樂牧師資料集 -施其樂牧師花了約25年時間,研究香港歷史檔案館館藏的大量歷史檔案、報章和論著後,整理出這個由資料卡構成的資料集。


搜尋館藏之前

在開展你的研究前,請先了解一下如何搜索歷史檔案館的目錄


館藏目錄

你可使用網上目錄「@PRO」,以搜尋館藏資料。


@PRO使用指引


@PRO示範短片

註冊@PRO使用者帳號
下載

更改無效的電郵地址
下載

管理帳戶
下載

重置啟用閒置帳戶
下載

搜尋館藏
下載

預約館藏
下載

借閱館藏(只限館內)
下載

申請取閱封存檔案
下載